Event Format

Webinar

Date

Wed, Dec 09, 2020, 01:00 PM – Wed, Dec 09, 2020, 02:00 PM

Cost

Free for all

Event Host

Contact Information

AHA Team Training
312-422-2609

Description

Wednesday, December 9 at 1:00 pm ET (12:00 pm CT, 11:00 am MT, 10:00 am PT)

Improving safety culture in any health care setting involves engaging all team members, including patients and family members. Health care team leaders, from the bedside to the c-suite, must manage every human resource in order to maximize team performance, especially during the challenge of a pandemic or other crises. Effective team leaders are also responsible for modeling effective communication and mutual support among all team members. This session is designed to help established team leaders from the bedside to the board room and across the care continuum discover how to use evidence-based teamwork tools to engage patients and family member as safety champions. Sue Collier, MSN, RN, FABC, Chief Engagement Officer of Patient Centered Innovation, Inc. is a patient engagement leader who will provide practical examples of how you and your organization can elevate patient and family engagement practices in daily operations. Interested participants will have the opportunity to complete a brief self-assessment to provide insights into current practices and opportunities for improvement.

Learning Objectives:

  • Explore the role of patients and families as safety champions and change leaders across the care continuum
  • Describe at least one strategy to engage patients and families in effective team communication and mutual support
  • Identify opportunities to engage patients and families as change leaders to improve safety culture, human resource management and communication across the care continuum